National Poetry Month

By: Jazmin Moore

It is April, which brings the beginning of spring. Along with the month of April, also brings many different celebrations and awareness. It is National Humor Month, Keep America Beautiful Month, National Poetry Month and many more unique holidays. This gives opportunity for many of us to CELEBRATE! I chose to celebrate by identifying one of my own favorite poems and honoring one of my student poems. I believe that we all can celebrate National Poetry Month by identifying one of our own favorite authors or sharing some personal poetry. Share your favorite poem with a friend, family member, or with the public!

P.S. If you share on social media use these hashtags, #NationalPoetryMonth, #CYMileHIgh, #makebetterhappen.

 

“Kidnap Poem”
-Nikki

ever been kidnapped,
by a poet
if I were a poet
i’d kidnap you
put you in my phrases and meter
you to jones beach
or maybe coney island
or maybe just to my house
lyric you in lilacs
dash you in the rain
lend into the beach
to complement my see
play the lyre for you
ode you with my love song
anything to win you
wrap you in the red, black, green
show you off to mama
yeah if i were a poet i’d kid
nap you.

Leave a Reply

