My Lifeline

By: Caroline Craig

Up-to-date West Team Photo 02-24

At the beginning of my year of service, I was so excited to find out which school I would be serving in, but more so, I was ecstatic to find out who would be on my team while serving everyday.  Once the announcements arrived and the school teams were revealed, I was thrilled with the idea that we were going to have each other to lean on and support one another throughout this stressful, yet rewarding year of service.

My West team has become my lifeline this year.  And as I use the word “lifeline”, I do not use it lightly.  There have been so many up’s and down’s throughout this past year- so many stressful days, but also so many joyful ones.  Each corps member on my team has influenced my service year in a positive way.  The amount of frustration that we’ve encountered could have easily broken each and every one of us.  However, I am never in doubt for too long before one or more of my teammates recognize my negativity and boost my spirits.  The laughter that fills up our team room is never-ending.  Whatever mood we are in, we know that the struggles and the accomplishments that we have are all shared; that we are all in this together- and, in my opinion, that’s a major part of what makes this year such a valuable experience.

Inside of school and during work hours, my teammates are supportive and always willing to lend a hand to get every task done efficiently and effectively.  Outside of school and during off hours, my teammates have become my closest friends.  I’ve had a few jobs before joining City Year, and I can honestly say that I’ve never become as close with or cared as much for any of my previous work colleagues as I have with my West team members.

City Year attracts a certain type of person.  Yes, the people I work with come from a variety of different backgrounds, but what I mean is that, to be involved with this organization and to do what we do on a daily basis, each person needs to embody a certain characteristic.  The characteristic that I’m referring to is drive.  Every day, in every classroom, and with every student that we help, each corps member is exemplifying just how driven they are to make a difference in the lives of our students and to the communities we serve in, as well.  I could not be prouder to be a part of such a wonderful team, and I am overjoyed that I have found lifelong friends through this organization.

One thought on “My Lifeline

  1. It was great reading your post! It makes me miss you even more. I am so happy for you and by your words, it seems amazing. You are a beautiful person filled with contagious personality and they are lucky to have you on their team and from what it sounds, it is reciprocated. I love you and miss you lots!

Leave a Reply

