Ten months of what?

By: Jasmine Kyles

Jasmine working with one of her students.

Jasmine working with one of her students.

Service. Simply put, it’s not what you think it is.

Over the past few months I’ve had many of my college classmates ask me “Why are you doing City Year?” To me City Year is not something you just “do,” it’s a conscious decision of committing to public service to pour into the lives of others, often others who could never repay me and I’m fine with that. Being apart of City Year we have the privilege of deciding what service looks like to our students, their parents, teachers, administration, and the cities we serve.

Maybe you’re considering a year of service, veering away from exactly what you’ve gone to school for, or changing careers but you’re not yet sure why you would do such a thing. When I graduated from the University of Texas at Austin last year I, like many others, had the question “what’s next?” For me the answer was simple, I would spend my time giving back because I wouldn’t have made it this far in life without the family, friends, and mentors who looked after me and made sure I stayed on my path to success.

Throughout my service year I’ve reflected on exactly why I serve and here are my three reasons:

1. I serve because on my route to success someone served me.

2. I serve for my ancestors who paved the way for me to be free, who were denied the education they deserved. I owe it to them.

3. I serve because if I don’t do it who will? Rather, if you don’t then who will?

 

 

Why will you serve?

Leave a Reply

