Happy New Year

By: Jazmine Moore

Me (in the blue scarf in the front row) with my City Year  friends just before the break.

Me (in the blue scarf in the front row) with my City Year friends just before the break.

As the holiday season has passed and schools are becoming filled with students, I can’t help but remain excited. I am excited for a new semester, excited to have finished a strong semester, and excited for the future. I came back from seeing family and friends refreshed, relaxed, and FIRED UP!

The holiday break could not have come at a better time, students were tired, faculty were tired, and we as Corps members were tired. This past semester had been challenging and exhausting but every bit rewarding and inspiring. We have built strong lasting relationships with students, we have grown professionally with faculty, and we have bonded as a team.

As I enjoyed this much deserved break I thought of my team, my partner teachers, and my students and especially missed them. I contemplated how I can be a better Corps member in the new year and came back recharged, reenergized, and excited for a new semester.

With the holidays in the past and a new year beginning take the time to reflect on your experiences these last few months. Take the time to reflect on your purpose, the people you touch, and the impact you make everyday and use that experience to recharge, become ready and be excited! Warm wishes and Happy New Years!

Leave a Reply

