Our very own “give a year” scholar: Evetty Satterfield

By: Thomas Dierkes

This week, City Year shared some very exciting news in securing the 50th higher education institution to join its “give a year” Partnership program.  A participating “give a year” college or university provides scholarships to City Year alumni and staff in return for their commitment to full-time service.  Partner schools give $2 million annually in scholarships to outstanding service-minded individuals.

Evetty Satterfield (center) with her team serving at Rachel B. Noel Middle School

City Year Denver is extremely pleased to announce that one of our very own Founding corps members, Evetty Satterfield, has received a “give a year” scholarship to pursue a Master’s of Social Work at the George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University of St. Louis.  I had the privilege to sit down with Evetty and ask her a few questions about her recent acceptance into graduate school and her experience serving in Denver this past year.  Here is what she had to say:

How and why did you decide to join City Year Denver’s Founding Corps?

I graduated from Alabama A&M University December 2010 and was blessed enough to find a full time position the following semester. Working full time as a Special Education Teacher, I found myself sinking into a “simple life.” The life that I want when I have a family, not as a twenty-two year old recent graduate. In addition, the school where I worked was a high-performing school and I felt as if I could be more useful working with a different group of students.

I Googled ” things to do after graduating” and I found AmeriCorps and started to apply. I then received an email from a City Year staff member in New Hampshire telling me about City Year and encouraging me to apply to the New Hampshire site.  I ended up applying as a “serve where most needed” applicant and here I am in Denver!

What impact will the service you have provided this year play in your studies at the Brown School of Social Work?

Working in Denver Public Schools System has been quite interesting. I have been able to work closely with the students, teachers and administrative staff to learn what works and what doesn’t.  I’m excited to apply my knowledge from my experience this upcoming fall semester.

Who or what inspired you to pursue the field of social work?

Honestly, I had never thought about social work until Tracy Templin from Washington University in St. Louis came to speak to our corps earlier in the year.  I shared my acceptance news with my mother and she told me she was a Social Worker for 9 years. Like mother like daughter I guess.

Did City Year impact your decision to go to graduate school?  If so, how?

I was interested in graduate school before joining City Year but I was having a hard time figuring out what to study and where to go.  City Year provided opportunities and resources to help me make those decisions. Thanks City Year!

We are so proud of Evetty’s achievements and wish her the best of luck next year!

Leave a Reply

